Registered a domain - trade mark issue - please help

vbahl

Hi,

I have registered three domains for an upcoming car model by a big manufacturer example: marutisuzukiswift.com - this is not owned by Maruti.

Can I sell them off to avoid Trade Mark dispute? I won't sell them for peanuts though :)

I am new to domains space and need help. Domains have been registered with Yahoo Small Business.

Any help is appreciated.

Best,
V Bahl

Last edited by a moderator:

Ceres

I have registered three domains for an upcoming car model by a big manufacturer example: marutisuzukiswift.com - this is not owned by Maruti.

My advice: stay away from trademarked domains!

The cited domain is what I consider a blatant trademark infringement. BTW, Maruti had no problem winning the domain marutisuzuki.com.

I am new to domains space and need help.

You should read up on what constitutes a trademark infringement and bad faith domain registration. The Legal Issues and Disputes Forum has a lot of relevant information.

vbahl

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. However, just one thing to add - the domain is like hyundai-i40.co.in (example) - For a model that has not been launched. Can I just make it a fan site?

Will it still be taken away?

Will there be any buyer AT ALL?

If You still believe I will make no money from these -- what should I do? Wait? or just cancel registration?

Thanks!

vbahl

And I am sorry about the link -- I wont post anymore of those :)

Also - marutisuzukikizashi (dot) com also exists -- if these rules matter so much, why do people still invest in such domains - FYI - my domain is strikingly similar to marutisuzukikizashi (dot) com -- that is a to-be-launched car

Ceres

Can I just make it a fan site?

From what I understand, fan sites are more of an uncertain area.

Non-commercial fan sites may be considered legitimate use.

If you profit from a fan site (eg. from ads etc), then you risk losing the domain.