Fake token presale at Sale-Orchid.com dupes people looking for Orchid.com


Lawsuit alleges that someone made away with $66,000 in fake token presale.

Even if you have a great domain name, people can get confused by other domains that use your brand name. Just ask Orchid Labs, a company creating a decentralized hosting network to avoid censorship.

According to a lawsuit (pdf) the company filed, someone set up a website at Sale-Orchid(dot)com designed to mimic the Orchid.com site. The fake site told people to send Ether in order to participate in a pre-sale of the company’s cryptocurrency tokens.

Orchid is currently in discussions with private individuals about investing, and the perpetrator sent messages to people pointing them to Sale-Orchid.com. Intriguingly, this person sent messages to people who were already in discussions with the company:

To make matters worse the perpetrators are sending e-mail messages out to various people pretending to be Orchid including potential purchasers presently in discussions regarding participation in Orchid’s actual private token sale. Such fake e-mails provide links to the fraudulent website at http://sale-orchid(dot)com.

According to the lawsuit, people have been duped out of $66,000 worth of Ether.

The court issued a temporary restraining order and the site has been taken down. But it would be pretty simple to set up another site like this.

Once GoDaddy received the TRO it deactivated the domain name and removed the Whois privacy. The Whois now shows the organization to be Orchid Labs and the name Patrick Dietzen. The order didn’t demand the transfer of the name, so I’m curious what the story is here. Maybe someone used fake information in Whois.

Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
D Fake court cases after offering data entry jobs The Lounge 0
Digital Pandit Escrow.com Report: Fake Websites for Coronavirus masks are scamming organizations out of Millions Registrars 0
Digital Pandit Fox News files a lawsuit to do away with Fake News sites Legal Issues and Dispute 0
Digital Pandit Edmonton Police gets hold of three Canadian domain due to a fake job scam Legal Issues and Dispute 0
Digital Pandit Magento eCommerce sites face problems due to fake Google domains Non-Indian Domains 0
Digital Pandit Facebook's crackdown on fake cryptocurrency domains Registrars 0
Digital Pandit Beware of a new fake android app called “GoDaddy Dashboard : Website, Domain Name, Email” Resources 0
Digital Pandit “Fake domain WHOIS” claims power MPA piracy cases in India General Indian Domain Name Discussion 0
JulienJ GoDaddy has no Android App and people on Google Play think the “GoDaddy Investor” app is fake! The Lounge 0
JulienJ Does the Domain Industry Suffer From Own Versions of Trumpted “Fake News” Stories? The Lounge 0
Jeff Pune Police Arrest Fake Website Creators General Indian Domain Name Discussion 0
domainking131 Fake Story on New gTLD Domain, Bloomberg.Market Sends Twitter Shares Up Over 5% New GTLDs 0
R Where to report for fake who is data provided for a domain? Legal Issues and Dispute 14
Ceres Fake website for Patna High Court The Lounge 0
Ceres Fake University Website Taken Down? Legal Issues and Dispute 0
Ceres Zoho's Entertaining Response to Microsoft's 'Fake Office' Comment The Lounge 0
Ceres Hackers' Latest Trick: Fake Parking Tickets The Lounge 3
Ceres Fake Google Job Offers The Lounge 5
Ceres Fake Antispyware Purveyor Doubles as Domain Registrar General Indian Domain Name Discussion 1
D Fake pr Webmaster Forum 8
fpforum Promote Your Token/ICO/Exchange/Website - Crypto Web Directory For Sale / Advertising 0
G Matcha.xyz use their crypto-friendly .xyz domain to make token exchanges easier and cheaper New GTLDs 0
JulienJ Token.com reportedly sold Non-Indian Domains 0
domainking131 Token Media moves off Token.com to sell domain name Non-Indian Domains 0
domainking131 New Cryptocurrency Asset Trading Platform Announced by Founders of The Token Fund Cryptocurrencies 0
domainking131 Token,Future and Vegan top trending keywords for July according to Verisign Non-Indian Domains 0
domainking131 Global Jobcoin Sells 10 Million Tokens in Presale & Starts Crowdsale Cryptocurrencies 0

Similar threads


Forums dedicated to Indian domain names, including buying, selling, appraising, developing, and monetizing.

About Us

Latest member
Top Bottom