Domainers are up in arms about an ICANN proposal to remove all price caps on popular .ORG domains

Digital Pandit

Well-Known Member
Country flag
Domain Registrants Urged to Weigh In On Unlimited .ORG Price Hikes Before Monday Deadline

Domain registrants are up in arms about an ICANN proposal to remove all price caps on popular .ORG domain names. Price increases have been limited to no more than 10%annually under .ORG's current contract with ICANN (already a far higher increase than the rate of inflation), but if this proposal is enacted,

dot-org-new-logo-280.jpg


the Public Interest Registry could increase prices to any number they want for .ORG registrations and renewals. If that happens you can bet demands for unlimited .com and .net increases won't be far behind.

ica-new-logo-2018-280x144.jpg


The Internet Commerce Association has already filed a detailed objection to the .ORG contract proposal with ICANN (the oversight body that governs the domain name system). To gauge community sentiment on this issue, ICANN opened a public comment period allowing all interest parties to weigh in on the proposal themselves. This is something all

domain name registrants should do and the ICA has made it easy for you by creating this comment submission form. The key point to be aware of now is that time is of the essenceas the comment period ends at 23:59 UTC on Monday, April 29. That is 7:59PM U.S. Eastern Time (4:59PM Pacific). You can also access the comment form from the ICA's Facebook page, their Twitter feed and their LinkedIn page.

Full article link
 

whois



Forums dedicated to Indian domain names, including buying, selling, appraising, developing, and monetizing.

About Us

Threads
28,756
Messages
76,178
Members
7,795
Latest member
Anu Kumar
Top Bottom