Quick Search

Threads: 9,439
Posts: 33,519
Members: 3,615
Welcome to our newest member, m6ll7yk2y
Indian Domain Name Blog

TBR Domains

DomainBits Blog

AmazingDomains.co.uk

Domain Name Forum

Buy a Domains Name

Sell Domain Names

Arbel Arif

Domainer from India

Hyderabad

DN Attorney

Australian Domains

Hindi Domain Names

Napier Domains

UK Domain Forum





 
INForum.in - Home of the Indian Domain Name Industry
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2010, 01:44 AM
Ceres's Avatar
Ceres Ceres is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,206
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 544
Thanked 572 Times in 345 Posts
Ceres is a splendid one to beholdCeres is a splendid one to beholdCeres is a splendid one to beholdCeres is a splendid one to beholdCeres is a splendid one to beholdCeres is a splendid one to beholdCeres is a splendid one to behold
Default Television Food Network wins domain dispute

The respondent in the INDRP case of FoodNetwork.in defended but lost the domain dispute to Television Food Network. One of the arguments made by the respondent was that "Food Network" is a dictionary keyword. This is similar to the argument made by the respondent in the WIPO case of FoodNetworkAsia.com (this respondent also lost his case).

The complainant disagreed that these are mere dictionary words and argued that FOOD NETWORK is a registered trademark which has become exclusively associated with the complainant.

Another assertion made by the respondent was that "the Complainant has registered the service mark 'recently' with a view to usurp the Respondent's domain name." However, from what I can tell, the date of the Indian TM application was 2003 and it matured to registration in 2006 (I think the respondent registered his domain in 2005).

The respondent stated that the domain was being used in good faith to promote Indian food.

Quote:
In the Arbitrator's view, the Respondent has not offered any plausible or credible explanation for his adoption of a domain name which is identical/confusingly similar to the Complainant's registered mark. The Respondent has merely stated that he is entitled to do so because he is of Indian origin and that he wishes to promote Indian food. The Arbitrator finds that this explanation is insufficient to establish the Respondent's rights in the mark FOOD NETWORK, or his bona fides in adoption.
What are your views on this decision - do you agree or disagree with it? I think there was an element of risk in owning FoodNetwork.in as the FOOD NETWORK mark seems to be quite famous.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ceres For This Useful Post:
Jeff (07-07-2010)
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When Are Indian Domain Registrations At Risk? chaudi Legal Issues and Dispute 55 12-23-2011 03:35 PM
Domain parking - Beta testers wanted for site launch ilovedomains For Sale / Advertising 0 06-01-2010 05:01 PM
Complainant Wins Typo Domain in WIPO Dispute Ceres Legal Issues and Dispute 3 10-05-2009 07:02 PM
Another Domain Scam Jeff Legal Issues and Dispute 10 08-13-2009 08:38 PM
The Domain Name Business - Sedo's Jeremiah Johnston explains founddomain General Indian Domain Name Discussion 0 07-21-2009 10:14 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:38 AM.

 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0

A vBSkinworks Design

Please Note: INForum reserves the right to remove domains that are listed here that we consider, in our sole discretion, to have no legitimate reason for their registration other than to trade off the goodwill of a third party.