INForum.in - Home of the Indian Domain Industry
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Ceres's Avatar
    Ceres is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,206
    Thanks
    544
    Thanked 575 Times in 346 Posts

    Default Indian company loses .mobi domain

    I just read about an India-based company that lost a WIPO arbitration case involving the domain CompareTheMarket.mobi.

    The complainant is the owner of a UK trademark for CompareTheMarket.com, and various design marks for CompareTheMarket. The complainant offers an insurance price comparison service (and other financial services) on the .com domain.

    The respondent did not file a response to the complaint. The disputed .mobi domain did not resolve to a website.

    The panel concluded that the respondent's registration and passive holding of the domain, in this particular case, amounted to bad faith. The circumstances which led to the panel's conclusion are:

    (1) the complainant provided evidence that its trademark is widely known and marketed in the UK;

    (2) the respondent registered the disputed .mobi domain years after the complainant's first trademark registration;

    (3) the respondent provided no evidence that it had any rights or legitimate interests in the disputed domain name;

    (4) the respondent did not reply to the complainant's allegations; and

    (5) the respondent had hidden its identity behind a proxy agent.

    You can read the decision on the WIPO website.

    Taking into account that the respondent did not defend or give any explanations, and had hidden its identity, I'm not all that surprised the panel ordered the transfer of the domain to the complainant.

    What do others think of the decision?
    Last edited by Ceres; 07-21-2009 at 05:21 PM.

  2. #2
    wot's Avatar
    wot
    wot is online now Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,113
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 373 Times in 209 Posts

    Default Re: Indian company loses .mobi domain

    The owner made no attempt to defend that will be the main contributing factor, even a simple mini site relating to other products would likely have altered the decision .

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-08-2012, 04:36 AM
  2. Great Indian Hand Reg Names Still Available!
    By OzDomainer in forum General Indian Domain Name Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-13-2011, 06:50 PM
  3. Another Domain Scam
    By Jeff in forum Legal Issues and Dispute
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-13-2009, 08:38 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-13-2009, 01:08 AM
  5. UDRP: Indian company loses TripMaker.com
    By Ceres in forum Legal Issues and Dispute
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2009, 03:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •