INForum.in - Home of the Indian Domain Industry
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Ceres's Avatar
    Ceres is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,206
    Thanks
    544
    Thanked 576 Times in 347 Posts

    Default Oscar academy files cybersquatting case

    The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences received a communication from an India-based company regarding the domain Oscars100.com. As you probably know, the Academy runs the well-known annual Academy Awards, aka the Oscars.

    A representative of 007 Promotions stated that it was auctioning the domain to the highest bidder, and that the buy-it-now price was $25 million (hey, that's all? ). Has any domain name ever sold near that price?!

    As the Academy Awards will enjoy its 100th anniversary in 19 years times, the company thought the domain might be of interest. Unbelievably, the representative threatened...I mean stated:

    We must remind you that we cannot be responsible for the alternative uses that it may be acquired for, Gambling, ADULT INDUSTRY, or otherwise
    It is our belief that if this Site comes into the hands of unscrupulous users, it may ?tarnish? the image of the Oscars if it is abused.
    The Academy's response was to file a lawsuit at a U.S. court under the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act.

    You can read more via the Legal Times.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Ceres For This Useful Post:

    skyshipper (05-22-2009)

  3. #2
    skyshipper's Avatar
    skyshipper is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    under the sun
    Posts
    440
    Thanks
    94
    Thanked 76 Times in 53 Posts

    Talking Re: Oscar academy files cybersquatting case

    lol!
    rule1- never try to sell a name to someone who has TM/any other rights to it!,<..>
    Last edited by skyshipper; 05-22-2009 at 10:21 AM.

  4. #3
    Ceres's Avatar
    Ceres is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,206
    Thanks
    544
    Thanked 576 Times in 347 Posts

    Default Re: Oscar academy files cybersquatting case

    The respondent that's mentioned in my previous post must really love the Oscars. Unfortunately, it just lost a few more Oscars-related domain names:

    oscars.cc
    oscarsloo.com
    oscars100th.com
    0scars100.com
    100thoscars.com

    Sorry but I don't buy the statement made by the respondent:

    The Respondent asserts that the combinations of words in the disputed domain names are “ingenious and innovative” and are “genuinely brought together in a totally innocent capacity”
    See here.

    The respondent states that it intends to appeal the judgment of the US District Court regarding the loss of oscars100.com (the domain mentioned in my first post).

    Does anyone actually believe the respondent's statement about the domains being innocent registrations?

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Cybersquatting...INDRP case
    By Ceres in forum Legal Issues and Dispute
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-08-2009, 09:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •