Results 1 to 10 of 10
-
02-24-2009, 10:51 AM #1
Senior Member
- Join Date
- Oct 2007
- Posts
- 197
- Thanks
- 51
- Thanked 100 Times in 40 Posts
Netandhost.com Spamming And Sending Misleading Emails
Hey Folk,
Today i got this mail.. is this true ?
Dear Customer, * *
It is our privilege to keep you informed about special rates offered by Netandhost.com for transfer of your .IN and CO.IN domains to us. The .IN Domain price is as low as Rs.550/- while the CO.IN Domain is Rs.299/-. With every transfer 1 year renewal is free.
*
We hope you benefit from the offering and contact us right away to have your domain transfered.
*
Thank you *
Netandhost.com
Sales and Support
Team Phone : +91-44-32560505, 6456 0606
-
02-24-2009, 10:58 AM #2
Junior Member
- Join Date
- Apr 2008
- Posts
- 14
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: every transfer 1 year renewal is free ??
I'm not entirely sure, but it may be that they're charging you for the transfer and offering you a free year, instead of giving you a free transfer and charging you for the first year. Just some marketing junk?
-
02-24-2009, 04:36 PM #3
Re: every transfer 1 year renewal is free ??
I just talked with them it is purely a marketing junk ? they gave example that if your domain is expiring on 1st March, 2009 and you use our transfer rates then domain get transfer and same is renewed till 1st March, 2010 ?
So what is new in that ? when you transfer domain it also renewed for one year, Net and Host think people are illetrate and donot know the tricks ? we should file complaint with .IN registry as email give impression that in Rs. 550 you get two year renewal (one year for transfer and another one is free as they offered)?
-
02-24-2009, 05:48 PM #4
Re: every transfer 1 year renewal is free ??
Interesting, I just got the same email.
I have no prior business relationship with Netandhost.com.
They emailed me at an email address that I only use for domain whois - so they are obviously scraping .in whois data and mass mailing based on that. If they were an American company, this would be a clear violation of the CAN SPAM act.
I agree that the email is very misleading - it sounds like they are offering as a free bonus something that you are already paying for anyway.
-
02-24-2009, 05:51 PM #5
Re: Netandhost.com Spamming And Sending Misleading Emails
Amended the thread title to properly reflect what's going on.
-
02-24-2009, 06:00 PM #6
Re: Netandhost.com Spamming And Sending Misleading Emails
I already forwarded my complaint to .In registry at (legal@nixi.in), and request you to forward such complaint to .In registry so nobody will dare to do the same in future. I already wrote .in registry that I am not having any business relation with them then How i got such email ?
ADDED More:
I also mark CC to netandhost (for removing my email from their spam database) at the email address on their website abuse@netandhost.com for spam complaints....same is bounced back with message No such user exist ? it shows how they work and when I try to find their contact address on their website but No address is found ? How .In registry give accrediation to this kind of companies ?
They should be ban by .In registry.Last edited by indian; 02-24-2009 at 07:02 PM.
-
02-24-2009, 09:55 PM #7
Junior Member
- Join Date
- Apr 2008
- Posts
- 14
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Netandhost.com Spamming And Sending Misleading Emails
GoDaddy offer the same transfer "deal" from memory. I don't think it's that unusual.
-
02-25-2009, 03:55 AM #8
Re: Netandhost.com Spamming And Sending Misleading Emails
But Go Daddy donot send spam ?
-
02-25-2009, 02:56 PM #9
Re: Netandhost.com Spamming And Sending Misleading Emails
Agree with Indian. The problem is that they are spamming and the promotion is very misleading.
Generally, I'm all for promotions
-
02-25-2009, 04:42 PM #10
Senior Member
- Join Date
- Sep 2008
- Posts
- 413
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Netandhost.com Spamming And Sending Misleading Emails
Well, the fact of the matter is that they are not the only ones who market it this way..I have come across a couple of registrars who promote transfer-ins by saying that you get one additional year free..I mean this too sounds misleading as the registrant might be confused thinking if its 'just one year' or 'one year above the one year' that he would get nevertheless..
But, ya sending Spam mails to registrants definitely sucks big time..
Similar Threads
-
urgent:help me get a quality domain to start a free indian dating site!
By abhishekjha in forum Domains WantedReplies: 16Last Post: 01-08-2012, 04:36 AM -
How to Find Free Images for Website
By Ceres in forum Webmaster ForumReplies: 10Last Post: 09-29-2009, 06:25 AM -
best thing/s this year
By Mei in forum The LoungeReplies: 0Last Post: 12-17-2008, 12:57 PM -
Get Free Copy of ZoneAlarmPro on Tuesday
By Ceres in forum Webmaster ForumReplies: 0Last Post: 11-17-2008, 08:09 PM -
Free SEO Web Seminar by Aaron Wall
By Ceres in forum Webmaster ForumReplies: 1Last Post: 10-21-2008, 01:59 PM


LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks
Reply With Quote


