INForum.in - Home of the Indian Domain Industry
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default IN.com for sale.

    check this on sedo

    https://www.sedo.co.uk/search/detail...id=&language=e

    Will someone fall for it?

  2. #2
    abhishekdaaga is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: IN.com for sale.

    I dont think this is true...
    I will pay 8,000 EUR Instantly now if i get this domain that is IN.com this is owned by web18 group and is worth a lot more than the sellers expected price quoted there.. they spending money like water on marketing this site and which is not for selling like this at this cheap price...

  3. #3
    Ceres's Avatar
    Ceres is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,206
    Thanks
    544
    Thanked 576 Times in 347 Posts

    Default Re: IN.com for sale.

    I hope no-one falls for it. Sedo's notice on the page is very easy to miss, and should be more prominent:

    This is an Internationalized Domain (IDN). Technically the domain is XN--N-IGA.COM.
    Last edited by Ceres; 11-26-2008 at 06:56 PM.

  4. #4
    Steppo is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: IN.com for sale.

    nice try


    worth, very low $xx

  5. #5
    Jeff's Avatar
    Jeff is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,996
    Thanks
    1,780
    Thanked 474 Times in 277 Posts

    Default Re: IN.com for sale.

    Well spotted. That's a real scam. Sedo should make the warning much more prominent.

  6. #6
    abhishekjha is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    262
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts

    Thumbs up He's not scammer! Here's the proof!

    hello, i have seen that its not a scam.
    The domain which he is selling is an IDN Domain where the word "in" is from a unicode characters whose Ascii relevant is "xn--n-iga" & his domain selling is genuine one and parked on sedo.

    I think, that he couldnt type IDN unicode characters in vbulletin topic title, so he wrote in.com instead which is already taken. so, he's a genuine seller.

    But still, i dont think anybody would like to buy the IDN domain name now, except the chinese & russians who use more of IDN words in their keyboard.

    Still, the seller should beware that buying & selling a typoo domain of a Trademarked Company's domain is against ICANN UDRP policy and any buyer of this domain could loose the domain in a legal suit if owners of the Trademarked domain like in.com approach ICANN with Copyright & Trademark violation with the help of Domain Name Legal Experts Like DomainMagistrate.com.
    Last edited by abhishekjha; 11-27-2008 at 08:01 AM.

  7. #7
    RaghavK is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    413
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default Re: He's not scammer! Here's the proof!

    I agree with your point..however Sedo still needs to make sure that it advertises it in the right fashion..by no means can the rate of IN.COM and the IDN be the same..

  8. #8
    domainerin is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    291
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 26 Times in 20 Posts

    Default Re: IN.com for sale.

    8000 Euros?

    Acc to what I hear, Web 18 has spent nearly 1.5 crores ( 15 million rupees) on just MARKETING this domain and has a userbase of 2 million already.

    Whoever sells that for 8000 euros?

  9. #9
    domainerin is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    291
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 26 Times in 20 Posts

    Default Re: IN.com for sale.

    err.. seems like everyone replied in HASTE .

    Please read :


    Important Notice:

    This is an Internationalized Domain (IDN). Technically the domain is XN--N-IGA.COM.

  10. #10
    Ceres's Avatar
    Ceres is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,206
    Thanks
    544
    Thanked 576 Times in 347 Posts

    Default Re: IN.com for sale.

    I think the point being made is that if someone doesn't know about IDNs or they don't see Sedo's notice, they could end up buying the domain name thinking they are buying IN.com, when in fact they are buying XN--N-IGA.COM.

    Sedo needs to make it crystal clear that it's an IDN – perhaps in red font so that the notice is not so easily missed!

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •